African Banker Awards Announces 2013 Nominees

The African Banker Awards, which will be held on the 29th of May in Morocco, has released their short-list of nominees for 2013.  The African Banker Awards has the African Development Bank Group as its official patron and is sponsored by various organisations including MasterCard, BGFI Bank, Banque Atlantique, Nedbank and Ecobank.

The African Banker Awards are designed to recognise the reforms, rapid modernisation, consolidation, integration and expansion of Africa’s banking and financial system.

Nominees for 2013 are:

African Bank of the Year

  • Attijariwafa Bank, Morocco
  • Equity Bank, Kenya
  • Guaranty Trust Bank, Nigeria
  • Standard Bank, South Africa
  • Standard Chartered, South Africa

African Banker of the Year

  • Segun Agbaje, CEO and Managing Director, GTB Bank
  • Aigboje Aig-Imoukhuede, GMD and Chief Executive, Access Bank
  • Andrew Alli, President and CEO, Africa Finance Corporation
  • Joao Figueiredo, CEO and Chairman, Unico Bank
  • Dr Charles Kimei, Managing Director, CRDB

Investment Bank of the Year

  • Citi Group, South Africa
  • JP Morgan, South Africa
  • Rand Merchant Bank, South Africa
  • Standard Chartered, South Africa
  • Vetiva, Nigeria

Award for Innovation in Banking

  • Banque Centrale Populaire, Morocco
  • Ecobank Transnational, Togo
  • Millenium BIM, Mozambique
  • Nedbank, South Africa
  • Standard Bank, South Africa

Socially Responsible Bank

  • Dahabshiil Bank, Djibouti
  • Ecobank Transnational, Togo
  • Fidelity Bank, Nigeria
  • Millenium BIM, Mozambique
  • Nedbank, South Africa

Award for Financial Inclusion

  • Africa Guarantee Fund, Kenya
  • Amhara Credit and Savings, Ethiopia
  • Attawfiq Microfinance, Morocco
  • Barclays Bank – Botswana
  • Bramer Banking Corp, Mauritius

Fixed Income Deal

  • Access Bank – Citi, Nigeria
  • Ghana Seawater Desalination Project – Standard Bank, South Africa
  • Letshego Holdings – Renaissance Capital, UK
  • Namibian bond – RMB (South Africa), Absa (South Africa)
  • Remittance Backed Syndicated term loan – Skye Bank, Nigeria
  • Republic of Zambia’s $750m bond – Barclays Capital (and Deutsche Bank), UK

Deal of the Year

  • Absa’s acquisition of Barclays’ African operations – JP Morgan, South Africa
  • Cove Energy – Standard Chartered, UK
  • Egypt Refining Company – EFG Hermes, Egypt
  • Oppenheimer sale in DeBeers – Standard Chartered, South Africa
  • RMB Westport Capital Raising – RMB, South Africa
  • Umeme IPO – cfc Stanbic (Kenya) and Fieldstone (South Africa)

Investment Fund/Private Equity Fund of the Year

  • Citadel Capital, Egypt
  • Coronation Fund, South Africa
  • Emerging Capital Partners, UK
  • Royal County of Berkshire Pension Fund, UK
  • Standard Chartered Private Equity, South Africa

Best Retail Bank in Africa

  • Banque Centrale Populaire, Morocco
  • Compagnie Generale de Banque Ltd, Rwanda
  • Coris Bank, Burkina Faso
  • Ecobank Transnational, Togo
  • Exim Bank, Tanzania

Best Islamic Bank

  • Afriland/ ICD, Cameroon
  • Gulf African Bank, Kenya
  • International Islamic Trade Finance Corporation (ITFC), Saudi Arabia
  • Maurisbank (+SAB), Mauritania
  • Takaful Insurance, Gambia

The winners for the following awards will be chosen by the Advisory Committee through consultations with multilateral organisations, industry experts and the African Banker editorial team:

  • African Banker Icon
  • Best Regional Bank in Africa
  • Brokerage House of the Year
  • Central Bank Governor of the Year
  • Finance Minister of the Year
  • Mortgage Bank/ Product of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement Award

All winners will be announced at the African Banker Awards 2013 Gala Dinner and Awards Ceremony on 29th May 2013, Taj Palace Marrakesh, Morocco.

You may also like

Popular News